TELECOMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION Meeting Report TR-8 Mobile and Personal Private Radio Standards Committee

PRESIDING:	John Oblak, Chairman
DATE/TIME:	October 3, 2000
LOCATION:	Radisson, Bahia Mar Beach Hotel Ft. Lauderdale, FL

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:30 P.M.

2. Record of Attendance, Quorum Determination

An attendance roster was circulated. A list of attendees is attached. The sign-in roster has been forwarded to TIA. A quorum was determined to be present.

3. Review of Agenda

Dominick Arcuri made a motion to accept the agenda. The motion was seconded by Daoud Serang. The motion passed.

4. Review of August 8 Meeting Report

Alan Wilson made a motion to accept the August 8, 2000 meeting notes from Milford, MA, with the following corrections:

- Agenda item 11 The correct Project Number is PN 4231
- Agenda item 7 The correct document is TIA-603-A
- Agenda item 8 Not all comments were responded to for PN-4512 and PN-4513. Upon completion, the documents will be sent in for publication.

The motion was seconded by Jim Lyon. The amended meeting notes were approved.

5. Patent Disclosure Inquiry

The question was asked if there is knowledge of patents that may be essential to the standards being considered. None was reported.

6. Review and Status of Old Assignments

John Oblak to check with TIA on the availability of the Project 25 CD ROM for TIA participants. This item is complete, with CD ROMs being distributed at the meeting.

John Oblak to distribute TSB-102 electronically. This item was completed.

7. TR-8.1 Measurement Methods - John Oblak

TIA-603 (SP-4231) is undergoing final edits prior to merging with the document from TR-8.6.

No new submissions were received for the PTT interface. A drafting task group was formed to provide inputs for the next meeting.

Alan Wilson presented a document on the TETRA emission mask.

8. TR-8.3 Encryption - Eric Ziolko

The OTAR Protocol document (SP-4824) has been balloted. Comments are being resolved prior to submission for publication.

The committee voted to send the Block Encryption Protocol document to ballot as an ANSI Standard.

The DES Encryption (SP-4512), DES Conformance (SP-4513), and the P25 OTAR Addendum (PN-4625) will be sent to TIA for publication prior to October 18.

The Security Systems Overview, OTAR, and OTAR Conformance documents are in the drafting stage.

9. TR-8.4 Vocoder - Jim Holthaus

There was no new business reported.

10. TR-8.5 Data - Paul May

Several submissions were received for PN-4869 on Wireless Data.

The subcommittee voted to send the SNDCP document (PN-4632-AD1) for ballot as an ANSI addendum to the Packet Data Standard.

11. TR-8.6 Performance Recommendations – Al Wieczorek

The TIA-603-A Performance Recommendations section (SP-4631) will be forwarded to TR-8.1 for merging with the Method of Measurements section.

TIA-102.CAAB (SP-4213) has been forwarded to TIA for publication.

Kevin Mayginnes was elected vice-chair of TR-8.6.

12. TR-8.10 Trunking Systems - Jim Holthaus

An addendum for Trunking Packet Data Messages for SNDCP was approved for ballot.

Work on a two slot TDMA trunking control document is awaiting input from TR-8.12.

13. TR-8.11 Antennas – Louis Meyer

Bob Elliot provided a written report. Working Group 1 is continuing to reformat the Antenna Standards document.

The Digitized Antenna Pattern document is ready for ballot. Interest by TR-45 is being sought prior to ballot.

14. TR-8.12 Two Slot TDMA Systems - Dominick Arcuri

An initial proposal for incorporating TDMA into the Control Channel document is being refined by a working group.

Work is being coordinated with TR-8.14 on interoperability of TDMA with FDMA Phase I.

Information will be compiled for addition into TSB-102-A.

Dr. Ernest Hofmeister was elected vice chairman of TR-8.12.

15. TR-8.14 Four Slot TDMA Systems – Joe Gallelli

There was no report given.

16. TR-8.15 Common Air Interface - Al Wilson

Jim Lyon was elected vice-chairman of TR-8.14.

The subcommittee voted to send the SNDCP addendum to the Reserve Values document (ANSI/TIA-102.BAAC-A) to ballot.

17. TR-8.17 RF Exposure – Nick Buris

There was no report. However, Nick Buris confirmed has willingness to continue as chairman.

18. TR-8.18 Wireless Systems Interference and Compatibility - Bernie Olson

Bernie Olson submitted a written report. Work is continuing on drafting of section 7 of TSB-88-B (PN-4744).

A report was also given on the 700 MHz guard band auction and the potential for interference to Public Safety operation.

19. TR-8.19 Wireline Systems Interface - Jerry Drobka

Jim Lyon was elected vice-chair of TR-8.19.

The subcommittee voted to send the fixed station interface document back to the Systems Task Group to consider additional inputs concerning voice over IP.

20. WG-8.20 International Activities – Al Wieczorek

A conference call is being set-up concerning GPWS.

21. New Business

The issue of sign-in rosters was brought up. It was suggested that rosters be mailed out to the chairmen earlier. It was also discussed that maintenance of the rosters should be more timely. An E-Mail distribution of rosters was suggested.

Chairmen were requested to have more than 1 disk available to distribute committee correspondence. John Derr will investigate the use of a LAN.

22. Review of New Assignments

- John Derr to update rosters.
- John Derr to investigate the use of a LAN.
- 23. Schedule Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held during the week of January 22, 2001 in Mesa, AZ.. The plan for subsequent meetings are as follows:

- San Diego March, 2001
- Kansas City June, 2001
- Salt Lake City August, 2001

24. Adjourn

Roger Bisby made a motion to adjourn. This was seconded by Jim Lyon. The meeting was adjourned at 2:35 P.M.

This meeting was conducted in accordance with the TIA legal guides and manual of organization and procedure. The attendance roster has been filed with the TIA Engineering Department.

John Oblak Chairman TR-8

Attendance TR-8

Name Dick Blake Ernest Hofmeister Paul May Don Vaughn Bruno Yurman Robert Small Pierre Makowski Hubert Azemard Jim Holthaus Jim Lyon John Oblak Delwyn Hunkley Bill Steffy Edwin Kelley Roger Bisby Daoud Serang David Taylor Steve Adler Jeff Anderson Mike Bright Jerry Drobka David Eierman Stan Hansen Terry Mansfield Kevin Mayginnes David Muri Bill Pagones Al Wieczorek Alan Wilson Eric Ziolko Graham Moore Anna Sillanpaa Roy McClellan Robert Williams Eldon Haakinson Richard Frye Richard Brockway Dominick Arcuri Martin VanDussen Jerry Gibson

October 3, 2000

Organization AirNet Com-Net Ericsson Com-Net Ericsson Com-Net Ericsson Com-Net Ericsson Daniels EADS-DSN EADS-DSN E.F. Johnson E.F. Johnson E.F. Johnson FBI IFR Interoperable Wireless Maxon America Inc. MX COM Marconi Motorola Nokia Nokia Nortel Networks Nortel Networks NCS Orbacom Racal **RCC** Consultants Redcom Safetran Systems

Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Bruce Meyers Richard Roley Bob Schlieman John Derr Royce Connerley State of Florida State of Georgia State of New York TIA Union Pacific Railroad



Approved by General Counsel

TR-8 Meeting Report Date: 10/3/00 Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL

> Approved: 12/19/00 **T# 5438**



The Telecommunications Industry Association represents the communications sector of 🖉